​Taking your oaths



What are the Oaths of Office?

Before you can begin performing Justice of the Peace (JP) functions, you are required to take the Oaths of Office before a Magistrate or Registrar of the Local Court. 

The three oaths are verbal declarations about your behaviour as a JP. They are the last step in the appointment process. Your appointment as a JP will not be final, and you will not receive a JP registration number, until you have taken the oaths.

You’ll need to take the oaths within four months of your appointment date. If you don't take the oaths within this time, your appointment will automatically lapse and you will have to start a new application.

After you have taken the oaths, we’ll email you to confirm your appointment as a JP including details of your JP registration number and the dates of your term of appointment.

How do I take the Oaths of Office?

You can take the Oaths of Office at any NSW Local Court. Each Local Court has different arrangements for taking the oaths. A list of Local Courts and their arrangements is available below.

If an appointment needs to be made via email, you can use a copy of our email template.

Local Court arrangements

​Court House
​Appointments
​Email
​Albion Park
​Not available: refer to Port Kembla or Wollongong 

​Balmain
​Not available: refer to Downing Centre or Newtown 

​Bankstown
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-bankstown@justice.nsw.gov.au
​Belmont
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-belmont@justice.nsw.gov.au
Blacktown
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-blacktown@justice.nsw.gov.au
​Bombala
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-bombala@justice.nsw.gov.au
​Broken Hill
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-broken-hill@justice.nsw.gov.au
​Burwood
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-burwood@justice.nsw.gov.au
​Campbelltown
​Wednesday at 9.30am, no appointment required
​Central (Sydney)
​Refer to Downing Centre 
​Coffs Harbour
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-coffs-harbour@justice.nsw.gov.au
​Deniliquin
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-deniliquin@justice.nsw.gov.au
​Downing Centre (Sydney)
​Wednesday: 9:00am, no appointment required

​Fairfield
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-fairfield@justice.nsw.gov.au
Finley
​Appointment essential via email to Court
local-court-finley@justice.nsw.gov.au
​Forster
​Appointment essential via email to Court
local-court-forster@justice.nsw.gov.au
Gloucester
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-gloucester@justice.nsw.gov.au
​Gosford
​Appointment essential via email to Court
local-court-gosford@justice.nsw.gov.au
​Grenfell
​Refer to Cowra  or Young 
​Gundagai
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-gundagai@justice.nsw.gov.au
​Hornsby
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-hornsby@justice.nsw.gov.au
​John Maddison Tower
​Not available: refer to Downing Centre  (Sydney)

​Katoomba
​Appointment essential via email to Court
local-court-katoomba@justice.nsw.gov.au
Kiama
​Not available: refer to Port Kembla or Wollongong
​local-court-kiama@justice.nsw.gov.au
​Kogarah
​Not available: refer to Sutherland 
​Kurri Kurri
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-kurri-kurri@justice.nsw.gov.au
​Kyogle
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-kyogle@justice.nsw.gov.au
​Lake Cargelligo
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-lake-cargelligo@justice.nsw.gov.au
​Leeton
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-leeton@justice.nsw.gov.au
​Liverpool
​Appointment essential via email to Court
local-court-liverpool@justice.nsw.gov.au
​Maitland
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-maitland@justice.nsw.gov.au
​Manly
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-manly@justice.nsw.gov.au
​Moama
​Thursday: email Deniliquin court to make an appointment
​local-court-moama@justice.nsw.gov.au
​Moruya
​Not available: contact Batemans Bay Local Court  
Moss Vale
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-moss-vale@justice.nsw.gov.au
Mount Druitt
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-mt-druitt@justice.nsw.gov.au
Newcastle
​Appointment essential via email to Court
local-court-newcastle@justice.nsw.gov.au
​Newtown
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-newtown@justice.nsw.gov.au
​North Sydney
​Not available: refer to Downing Centre or Hornsby
Nowra
​Wednesday: 10:00am, no appointment required

​Parramatta
​Appointment essential via email to Court
local-court-parramatta@justice.nsw.gov.au
Penrith
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-penrith@justice.nsw.gov.au
Picton
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-picton@justice.nsw.gov.au
Port Kembla
​Monday: 9:30am, arrive by 9:20am, no appointment required
​Port Macquarie
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-port-macquarie@justice.nsw.gov.au
​Raymond Terrace
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-raymond-terrace@justice.nsw.gov.au
​Richmond
​Not available: refer to Penrith or Windsor 
​Ryde
​Not available: refer to Parramatta 
​Sutherland
​Friday: 9:00am, no appointment required
Tamworth
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-tamworth@justice.nsw.gov.au

​Temora
​Appointment essential via email to Court
local-court-temora@justice.nsw.gov.au
​Toronto
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-toronto@justice.nsw.gov.au
​Wagga Wagga
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-wagga-wagga@justice.nsw.gov.au
​Wauchope
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-wauchope@justice.nsw.gov.au
​Waverley
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-waverley@justice.nsw.gov.au
​West Wyalong
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-west-wyalong@justice.nsw.gov.au
​Wilcannia
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-wilcannia@justice.nsw.gov.au
Windsor
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-windsor@justice.nsw.gov.au
Wollongong
​Monday: 9:00am (for 9:30am), no appointment required
Wyong
​Appointment essential via email to Court
local-court-wyong@justice.nsw.gov.au
​Yass
​Appointment essential via email to Court
​local-court-yass@justice.nsw.gov.au

Email request template to Local Court

You can use the below template to request an appointment for taking your Oaths of Office.

1. Click the email address of the Local Court you would like to make an appointment with. A new email should automatically open with the subject line populated. 

If a new email does not open, log in to your email account and start a new email. Then copy and paste the email address and add the subject line:

Appointment for Justice of the Peace Oaths/Affirmation.

2. Copy and paste the following text into the body of your email. Make sure to fill in your contact details (name, contact numbers and email) and sign the email with your name. 


To the presiding Registrar,

I am seeking to take the Justice of the Peace Oaths of Office / Affirmation. I understand an appointment is essential.

Please contact me to confirm an appropriate appointment date and time.

My contact details

Name:

Phone number:

Alternate number:

Email:

Yours faithfully,

[Insert name]